Advocacy Center   |   Collaborate   |   Data Portal   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AAOE
News & Press: AAOE News

Award Winners Announced at AAOE Annual Conference

Wednesday, May 17, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Alyssa DelPrete, AAOE Communications
Share |


AAOE members who have gone above and beyond in service and contributions to the orthopaedic practice industry were recognized during the fourth annual AAOE Awards of Excellence during the 2017 Annual Conference of the American Alliance of Orthopaedic Executives (AAOE).

Selected through a nomination and peer review process, award winners were announced for Volunteer of the Year, Practice Executive of the Year, Practice Professional of the Year, Rising Star, Innovation Award, Listserv Champion, and Lifetime Achievement – several of which are new award categories added for 2017.

More about the criteria for the awards and the winners:


Volunteer of the Year – Angel Agus, Campbell Clinic

Volunteer of the Year recognizes an AAOE member who has made exceptional contributions in a voluntary capacity to support the organization’s goals. Volunteer of the

The 2017 Volunteer of the Year is Angel Agus, Orthopaedic Technician, Campbell Clinic. Agus was recognized for her involvement in the creation of the AAOE Casting and Splinting Program. When describing her role in the program’s development, her nominator said her “volunteer work will be something that will prove to be valuable for all participants and practices that register for the casting certificate program.” 


Practice Executive of the Year – Michael Humphrey, Syracuse Orthopedic Specialists

Practice Executive of the Year was awarded to a member who, as the lead staff person or executive, has consistently gone above and beyond at his or practice. The award is granted based on the recipient’s ability to motivate others, stimulate positive activity, and serve as a catalyst for exceptional results.

This year’s winner is Michael Humphrey, Chief Executive Officer, Syracuse Orthopedic Specialists.
Humphrey’s nominator called him a “leader of the people” who has helped to grow his company.


Practice Professional of the Year – Brandy Holguin, Las Cruces Orthopedic Associates, PC

Practice Professional of the Year recognizes an AAOE member who is employed in a full-time position as a staff member of a practice or organization. This person is dedicated to the mission and vision of the practice or organization and has made significant contributions.

The 2017 Practice Professional of the Year is Brandy L. Holguin, Operations Manager, Las Cruces Orthopaedic Associates, PC. Holguin was recognized for her contributions to her practice in the form of lean systems. Her nominator said her “tireless efforts” with each of her practice’s departments resulted in streamlined processes with improved patient experience and increased staff efficiency. 


Rising Star – Eric Hannah, Michigan Orthopedic Center

Rising Star is awarded to an AAOE member who is newer to orthopaedic practice management but has shown significant contributions to the practice or organization and has demonstrated a dedication to the mission and vision of his or her employers.

This year’s Rising Star is Eric Hannah, Practice Administrator, Michigan Orthopedic Center. Hannah’s nominator described him as “an amazing professional with a considerable amount of insight and ideas for operating an orthopaedic practice, even early in the game” who will “continue to be an asset” to his practice and to AAOE.


Innovation Award – Brian Slinde, OrthoIllinois

The Innovation Award recognize an individual, orthopaedic or subspecialty practice, or a hospital department that has developed an innovative solution to improve delivery of care, patient satisfaction, or physician/employee satisfaction, and can be replicated to benefit the entire orthopaedic community.

The winner of the 2017 Innovation Award is Brian Slinde, PT, ATC, CSCS, Cert.MDT, Director of Rehab, OrthoIllinois. Slinde was recognized by his nominator for his “diligent work in developing an exclusive and unique PT/OT specific documentation and billing module.”


Listserv Champion – Samantha Spencer, Missoula Bone & Joint and Surgery Center

The AAOE listserv is a tool for member to communicate directly with peers to share experience and information. The Listserv Champion is awarded to a member who has consistently contributed on the listserv with valuable information that is positive, knowledgeable, and benefits other members while supporting the AAOE mission and values.

This year’s Listserv Champion is Samantha Spencer, FACMPE, CMM, Chief Executive Officer, Missoula Bone & Joint and Surgery Center. Spencer’s nominator remarked, “I know every time I see one of her email posts, a juicy piece of information or advice is enclosed within.” 


Lifetime Achievement Award – Dale Reigle, Rocky Mountain Orthopaedic Associates, PC

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented each year to an AAOE members who has dedicated significant time and energy to the association. This year’s recipient is Dale Reigle, Rocky Mountain Orthopaedic Associates, PC.

 “Dale Reigle received a well deserved Lifetime Achievement Award for his many contributions to AAOE, as well as his own practice,” says AAOE member and retired orthopaedic practice executive Mary O’Brien, MBA, CMPE, who presented the award. “Dale has been a member of BONES/AAOE for 20 years. For more than half of those years he volunteered his time to chair a national meeting, serve on the board (including serving as president), present courses at 10 national meetings, write several professional articles, and serve as a resource to his peers.”

She adds, “In his own practice he facilitated a merger of two groups, oversaw new construction, and helped build a great orthopaedic practice.”


President’s Award – Brian Bizub, Palm Beach Orthopaedic Institute

The President’s Award is presented to an AAOE member who has provided exceptional support to the President in the execution of his or her duties. The recipient is chosen at the sole discretion of the President. This year’s recipient is Brian Bizub, BSHA, Chief Executive Officer, Palm Beach Orthopaedic Institute.

When sharing his reasons for selecting Bizub, AAOE Past President Jan Vest, MBA, Chief Executive Officer, Signature Medical Group, says, “Brian Bizub has exemplified the qualities of a leader as a member of AAOE, Treasurer of AAOE, and as a member of the Board of Directors of AAOE. He’s always prepared, always willing to lend a hand, and always part of the solution to any challenge. It has been an honor to get to know Brian and work with him on the Board of Directors.”


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal