Advocacy Center   |   Collaborate   |   Data Portal   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AAOE
News & Press: Government Affairs News

Senate Democrats Name Ranking Members for 115th Congress

Wednesday, November 16, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Bradley Coffey, MA, AAOE Government Affairs
Share |

Washington, DC - Senate Democrats have chosen their ranking members for the 24 standing, special, select, and joint committees of the Senate. The ranking member is the highest ranking member of the minority party on a committee, they are the "minority's chair". The Ranking Member determines the minority party's position on legislation in front of the committee and where the legislation sits in relation to the caucus' legislative agenda.

The ranking members in the 115th Senate are:

  • Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry: Sen. Debbie Stabenow (MI)
  • *Appropriations: Sen. Patrick Leahy (VT)
  • Armed Services: Sen. Jack Reed (RI)
  • Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Sen. Sherrod Brown (OH)
  • *Budget: Sen. Bernie Sanders (VT)
  • Commerce, Science, and Transportation: Sen. Bill Nelson (FL)
  • Energy and Natural Resources: Sen. Maria Cantwell (WA)
  • Environment and Public Works: Sen. Tom Carper (DE)
  • *Finance: Sen. Ron Wyden (OR)
  • Foreign Relations: Sen. Ben Cardin (MD)
  • *Health. Education, Labor, and Pensions: Sen. Patty Murray (WA)
  • Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: Sen. Claire McCaskill (MO)
  • Indian Affairs: Sen. Tom Udall (NM)
  • *Judiciary: Sen. Dianne Feinstein (CA)
  • Rules: Sen. Amy Klobuchar (MI)
  • *Small Business and Entrepreneurship: Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (NH)
  • Veterans' Affairs: Sen. Jon Tester (MT)
  • Aging: Sen. Bob Casey (PA)
  • Ethics: Sen. Chris Coons (DE)
  • Intelligence: Sen. Mark Warner (VA)
  • Joint Economic Committee: Sen. Martin Heinrich (NM)
  • Joint Committee on Printing: Unknown
  • Joint Committee on Taxation: Unknown
  • Joint Committee on the Library: Unknown

Republicans in the Senate will announce their committee chairs at a later date.

*Committees that typically handle healthcare and business-related legislation.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal